View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently March 22nd, 2019, 10:43 am

Forum rules

All rulings are considered unofficial until included in print or official errata and FAQ document.

Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Burning Horn - Dragon's Breath Question 
Author Message
Bottle Cap
User avatar

Joined: April 26th, 2015, 1:43 am
Posts: 2
I literally just lost friends in an argument over this once we started questioning each others ability to read.

It reads:

"BURNING HORN (ATTACK) +1 Green Die" ------ AKA you get +1 Green die for your ATT Attribute.

Then BELOW that, it reads:

"2 (Red dice - AKA it's a "SPECIAL ATTACK" that needs 2 Actions to perform)
Dragon's Breath: Spray 5, Fire, Dangerous" <---- THIS is what caused the argument.

My argument, and interpretation is that:
It's a Special Attack, which has NO attribute attached to it, THUS cannot miss, but does NO direct Damage. It has NO possibility to deal any direct damage, it ONLY applies the FIRE debuff to anything within the Spray effect area.

The Counter argument argues that Special "Attacks" automatically roll and thus do direct damage, as he selectively read the Special Attack section in the rules.

13 - Special Attacks
A special attack is denoted by . The number is how many
action points you must spend to make the special attack. You
must spend all the action points indicated at once in order for
the special attack to work.
If a special attack lists no distance or area of effect, it may only
target enemy models in melee. If a model possesses a distance
effect as a special ability they may use it with any special attack
they take, unless the action specifies otherwise.
Any dice the special attack grants are in addition to the model’s
normal attribute.
If a model has a special ability that causes status effects (such as
Fire), any special attack that model uses will also cause the status
effect if they successfully deal damage.
Unless the attack indicates otherwise, its effects expire
immediately following the resolution of the special attack.

The most recent RED part is that part he keeps quoting, saying that it has to deal damage to apply the FIRE Debuff.

Please, PLEASE tell what the TRUE use of this special attack is.

Keep in mind Special Attack is literally only a name to differentiate between it and a Special Ability, since both can be affected individually. While Special attacks are offensive in nature, it does not add dice or do any direct damage unless the text in the Special Attack states it does.


April 26th, 2015, 2:01 am
User avatar

Joined: March 1st, 2015, 5:48 pm
Posts: 70
If the icon/button is red it needs to hit to apply, if its blue then it's just applied and no rolls, just like with heroes.

April 26th, 2015, 2:27 am
Bottle Cap
User avatar

Joined: April 26th, 2015, 1:43 am
Posts: 2
So what stat does it use?

April 26th, 2015, 7:08 am
Ninja Corps
User avatar

Joined: March 25th, 2012, 9:44 pm
Posts: 2471
If it doesn't say magic or missile, it uses attack

April 26th, 2015, 8:27 am
User avatar

Joined: March 1st, 2015, 5:48 pm
Posts: 70
If its an attack it would be red, which means a wound to apply.

April 26th, 2015, 12:32 pm
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.