View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently October 23rd, 2017, 4:19 pm

Forum rules


Attention!
All rulings are considered unofficial until included in print or official errata and FAQ document.



Reply to topic  [ 122 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
 FAQ Overload - If its been asked, it's probably in here! 
Author Message
Mini-Boss
User avatar

Joined: February 27th, 2013, 3:20 am
Posts: 600
(Last Updated March 8, 2014) (criticisms on how to better organize the data or if something is wrong is welcome)

I've scoured the halls of the forum of rules, and come back with (almost) every question ever asked and the answers given forth by the mighty deity Deke (and some less important people).

UNANSWERED QUESTIONS

Q - If Captain R draws his Black Spot Treasure card, does he get to draw another card, or does it just go the Heroes and that's it ?

Q - When a large base models moves onto multiple Bone Piles, is it 2 movement to remove all piles, or is it 2 movement per pile to remove ? Or when there are multiple Bone Piles on a single square ?



RECENTLY ANSWERED QUESTIONS
Q - Can the Curse Coven Witch use her potion on any model in melee with a 'witch' in its name or title, or does the model have to be in melee with that particular Curse Coven Witch ?
A - Curse Coven Witch cannot share her potion. It must be the specific Curse Coven Witch.

Q - How does healer and luck work together ? e.g. the rogue benefiting from nourishing berries. (in which order are the effects applied)
A - Healer generates the extras, then Luck makes them what the player wants.

Q - Captain R's Treasure Black Spot says that 'when drawn a Hero must equip the card.' So if Captain R draws the card, does a Hero still have to equip it, does the Captain equip it, or does it get shuffled back into the deck ?
A - A Hero must equip it. The Heroes get to decide who must equip it.

Q - Does Stealth work against the Death Spectre's Special Attack ? Or is the Range 1 indicator an unneeded part of the attack since he has no ranged attacks.
A - No. The next FAQ revision will adjust Stealth to reducing Range to a minimum of 1.

Q - Burrow (yup, still controversial). Can you go under walls ? Or must you count legal squares to your destination ? (Please be very, very, very specific when wording the answer ^_^)
A- Yes. Go under walls. Count the wall as though a square(s) were on it. The model must reappear in legal space. I realize this answer is fudging the letter of the rules.

Q - If a Hero uses the fighter's potion, Hero's Balm, and that Hero has stealth, does it get to make a stealth roll or not ?
A - No stealth roll. Range and LoS is determined by the original target. Hero's Balm only affects who makes the defense roll and suffers the final effects of the attack.

Q - Can we get a clarification as to what constitutes as an action (in reference to burrow for example)? Is it only things that require action points such as Attacks, Special Attacks, & Special Actions ? Or is it anything that requires player input, such as Special Abilities, Potions, Etc. ?
A - Actions are only things that use action points. Burrow is done in place of spending Speed to move.

Q - Can a model use Burrow to remove Knockdown, and thus not lose an action point?
A - Yes. You may Burrow to remove Knockdown.

Q - Can spawning points be targeted by effects that require an opposed DEX, WILL, or ATT roll? (e.g. Miserable Toad’s, Sticky Tongue attack?)
A - No.

Q - Does the Power Gauge continue advancing after the boss is spawned (for skull tokens) ?
A - Yes. Continue to advance the Power Gauge. The Consul may earn skull tokens to remove status effects during the Boss Fight.

Q - Can the Star Guild Sapper’s, Burning Bloom, potion be combined with Berserk attacks?
A - Yes. For Example: The Barbarian would be able to make four Range 6, Fire attacks

Q - If a Roller Thwacks! a shell and it comes adjacent to 2 Heroes simultaneously, are both Heroes affected or just 1 ?
A - Only one Hero, chosen by the Consul, is affected.

Q - Thwack! ability. Is the 'push' listed to be treated exactly like the ability 'Push X' where the shell must end up, after every square moved, farther than it started ?
A - Yes.

Q - Can dead characters equip items?
A - No. (Note that this is a change from previous FAQ rulings.)

Q - If there are no empty spaces adjacent to the Start Marker when a Hero is resurrected are they prevented from resurrecting?
A - No. Place the Hero in the closest empty square to the Start Marker as possible.

Q - When a model shapeshifts does it retain any active effects it is currently subject to? For example: The eeproot
Druid activates Backlash and then shapeshifts into Angry Bear. Does Angry Bear still benefit from Backlash?
A - Yes. Since the shapeshift is the same model effects remain in play for their normal duration

Q - When a model shapeshifts into a model of lesser speed, e.g. Von Wilder’s Speed 8 versus Von Wilding’s Speed 6, is the new model (Von Wilding) only able to move 6 squares? Or it can move the 8 from it’s initial form?
A - A model is limited by the number of squares it has already moved before shapeshifting, and the Speed of its current form. For example: If Von Wilder moved 6 to 8 squares before shapeshifting into Von Wilding then Von Wilding could not make any further move. If Von Wilder had moved 0 to 5 squares Von Wilding could move the remainder up to his maximum Speed 6. Likewise, if Von Wilding moved 6 squares and then shapeshifted into Von Wilder, he could then move the remaining 2 squares up to his new Speed 8.

Q - Can Stealth or the Von Drakk -2 range on spawning points make an attack have 0 range, or is there a minimum of 1 range ?
A - Distance Effects may be reduced to zero. When this occurs the effect is considered to have failed and no further rolls are made.

Q - Can Special Attacks and Special Actions be used more than once per activation?
A - Yes, provided the model has enough action points.

Q - When an item is traded for a heart does the “Healer” ability trigger?
A - No. Healer specifies that it works only when a heart is rolled on an attack roll.

Q - When Von Drakk spawns, does he raise as many Rattle Bones as you have in your collection, or is it limited by spawning point model restrictions ?
A- It is limited by the number of models you have available in your spawning point pool, as determined by the spawning points you chose at the beginning of the game.

Q - Can any Hero use offensive potions, or just the Hero with said potion ?
A - Just like normal potions any Hero can drink an offensive potion, provided the Hero with the offensive potion has the necessary potion counters on their card.

Q - Do offensive potions cause backlash to activate ?
A - If the offensive potion causes an attack and defense roll to occur, then yes, Backlash will activate if the defense roll is higher than the attack roll.

Q - How does rotating tiles work if a big model is on 2 tiles at the same time?
A - The tile does not rotate. Instead any large-base models straddling the tiles suffer one wound.

Q - If 'Vulnerable (x)' is printed in the special ability bar, how are you suppose to know if that model is weak to (x) or if it gives out vulnerable (x) as a status effect ?
A - Vulnerable: X is always a weakness and never given out as part of an action unless noted otherwise, such as with Lycanthropy. This is an exception to normal Status Effect rules specific to Vulnerable: X.

Q - Is Lycanthropy one unremovable effect (until Von Wilder activates), or can the vulnerable: magic part be removed ?
A- The Vulnerable: Magic status effect may be removed by normal means before Von Wilder activates.

Q - How do type bonuses (Holy vs Undead) affect an AOE roll when there are also mobs of a different type? Do you get to reroll for everyone, just that type, or no roll at all ?
A - If a model within the AoE is of the affected type (e.g. Undead) the special ability is triggered, and applies to all models within the AoE regardless of their type.

Q - Can the Heroes use a Teleport Potion to escape the effect of the Witch's Toad transform special action, or is it instant as soon as it is declared and unavoidable ?
A- Yes. Since Transmogrify triggers a special action the normal potion timing effects occur, allowing Teleport to move the Hero out of harm’s way.

Q - Do Bosses/Minibosses get to remove status effects if they roll both hearts or potions, or just hearts ?
A - Just hearts.

Q - For the Sister of Light, does her potion completely replace the melee attack or can they choose to do either the cross or a normal melee? And if f the target can do a melee and not the cross, does the melee attack get Holy and Fire?
A- As stated in Elixir of Light’s description “All” melee attacks gain “Cross 1, Holy, Fire,” so the Hero may not opt to make a normal melee attack.

Q - Do Control Attacks and Effects (Compel, Push, Pull) follow normal rules for movement?
A - Yes. All normal rules for movement must be followed during a control movement.

Q - What happens if a model suffering from a Control Effect cannot complete its move? (e.g. it runs into a wall or enemy models)
A - Move the controlled model as far as possible and then stop the move.

Q - Does Missile X require you to be at least one square away from an enemy?
A - No. This requirement was removed in the 1.5 pdf update of the rules to bring it in line with other Distance Effects

Q - Do treasure chests block movement ? (Can you create walls with them ?)
A - Chests do not clock movement, you just can't end your movement on a space occupied by a chest.

Q - Von Wilding's Compel Special Action needs a range or something to make it usable. (Blue button actions don't benefit from reach)
A - The effect should read: Range 2, Compel 2



CARD CHANGES
Nyan Nyan
*Change Pounce to "Pounce: Choose an enemy model anywhere within 5 squares, and line of sight. Place the model with Pounce adjacent to this target, then roll to attack as normal."

Von Wilding
*Crack the Whip should read "Crack the Whip: Range 2, Compel 2"

Riftling Rogue
*Change Bamf! to “Bamf!: Augment, Wave 2, Smoke”
*Change Smoke to “Smoke: Models affected by Smoke gain Stealth.”

Kobold Flinger
*Change Smoke Pot to “Smoke Pot: Augment, Range 6, Burst 1, Smoke”
*Change Smoke to “Smoke: Models affected by Smoke gain Stealth.”

Crusher
*Remove Augment from Thick Shell

Star Guild Sapper
*Remove Augment from Star Shine

Roxor
*Remove Augment from Magma

Ember Hound
*Replace Aura 1 with Wave 1 on Ash Cloud


ANSWERED QUESTIONS

DUNGEON DELVE (2 HERO GAME)
Q: What is the goal of a Dungeon Delve game for the Heroes?
A: To kill the Mini-Boss.

Q: In an 2 Hero game, how does spawning mini-bosses work? Does he automatically spawn when all the spawning points are destroyed? Does he get 2 activations if there is spawn point remaining ?
A: The Mini-Boss is treated exactly like a boss without an adventure effects card (so no timeout or dungeon effects); including spawning, extra activations, a timeout period and healing to half health.


ACTION POINTS
Q: Is an attack considered a failure and the action point spent if a character teleports away or otherwise makes an attack invalid?
A: Yes. The action point is spent immediately before making the attack roll.


ADVENTURE TRACKER
Q: Do Fire Damage, Backlash and other damage dealing effects advance the Loot Tracker or Power Gauge?
A: The rules for each effect state that the Power Gauge does not advance. The Loot-O-Meter advances as normal.

Q - Can you clarify when to move which tracker ?
A - Advance the Loot Marker one space every time a monster suffers a wound. Advance the power gauge one space every time any model, Hero or monster, suffers a wound. (Unless an effect specifies otherwise)


AREA OF EFFECTS
Q: If an AoE fails hitting an initial target due to a successful defend, does it completely fizzle or do other targets still get hit?
A: The other targets are still hit; each model in the AoE makes their own defense roll.

Q: If a Burst attack fails to hit the initial target due to Stealth, does the AOE still hit surrounding mobs.
A: No, if the initial target uses stealth to avoid the attack, the attack is considered to have failed.

Q: Does a model with Stealth in the radius of an AoE get to make a Stealth roll if they are not the initial target?
A: No. Stealth only applies if you are the initial target.

Q: In what order do you handle models that are affected by AoEs?
A: They are all considered to be hit simultaneously.

Q: Do auras of models killed in an AoE attack stay active until the attack is resolved, or are they instantly disabled when the model is removed?
A: The aura is active until the attack has been resolved, regardless of the order that models are removed.

Q: When using an AoE that is "Dangerous" and the casting model is in the AoE, are they affected too?
A: Yes.


EQUIPMENT /LOOT/ TREASURE
Q: If an equipment card is chosen to be held until the end of the turn, is it still eligible for the same hearts/potions that the Heroes would have gotten if sacrificed immediately?
A: Yes it may be sacrificed as normal.

Q: Does equipment that improves the Attack attribute (ATT) also improve ranged attacks?
A: Loot and relics that improve ATT also improve attacks using the Range X ability. Just as equipment that improves WILL or DEX enhance attacks made with the Magic X or Missile X abilities (WILL for Magic X, DEX for Missile X).

Q - Can Loot/Treasure be given to any Hero, or just the Hero that triggered the item ?
A - Potions, Hearts, Loots and Treasures can be given to any hero in the dungeon. It doesn't matter who triggered getting one of those items.

Q - If a model equips an item the renders them immune to a status effect does that immediately wipe those effects from those models?
A - Models stop suffering the effects of status effects if they get something that makes them immune.

Q - Can equipment be equipped or discarded any time during a round ?
A - There are only 2 periods of time that Heroes can equip or discard loot and relics; Immediately or at the end of the round.

Q - Discarding equipment gives hearts or potions ?
A - Loot = heart, Treasure = heart or potion.

Q - When does the consul get to draw loot ?
A - The Consul only gets loot in the 5 Hero game when the Power Gauge marker moves into Overcharge the first time per the 1.5 errata. The Consul no longer gets loot in 2 or 3 Hero games.


INITIATIVE
Q: If Heroes win initiative, must the Hero player who rolled for initiative go first?
A: No. Any Hero may be activated.

Q - Is the initiative roll done every new round after spawning monsters?
A - Yes. You roll for initiative at the beginning of each round.


MOVEMENT
Q: Can a character move diagonally around a corner?
A: Yes

Q: Can a character move diagonally through two models or two impassible objects?
A: Yes. It creates a little visual hitch, but since diagonals are treated exactly like a "straight" side you can move freely through them. This is to keep movement simple and fast. An adjacent square is an adjacent square regardless of if it is flush or diagonal.

Q: Can models end their movement in a square occupied by another model?
A: No models must end their movement in an empty square.

Q - Can you move through enemy models ?
A - You cannot move through enemy models but you can move through friendly models.

Q: How do large models move through halls between tiles?
A: They take up the squares on both sides

Q - The Hallways on the tiles (the bits with the arrows that link the doors); should they be counted as squares for movement?
A - No, the arrows are not counted as movement squares. The squares behind the arrows are considered adjacent when connected to another tile's arrows.


POTIONS AND HEARTS
Q: How does potion timing work?
A: Potions may be used to interrupt or prevent an effect but they may not be used to undo an effect once it has already occurred (e.g. once the dice have been rolled).
CANNOT be used in response to rolling a potion, to gain the rolled potion.
CANNOT be used to augment or replace a roll that has already been made.
CANNOT be drank when a model is reduced to zero health or removed from play.
CAN be used to augment or replace a roll that has not been made.
CAN be used before making an attack roll.
CAN be used before making a defense roll.
CAN be used after placing a wound or status effect counter.

Q - How many potions do the Heroes start with?
A - Each Hero starts with just 1 potion.

Q - Are Potions stackable ?
A - If it is something that augments a stat it affects them until their next activation. For instance: Candy and the Scout's potion. You can benefit from either or both but not from the same one over and over. If the potions effects expire immediately, such as the Paladin's Elixir or Rogue's Dimensional Draught, they may be used back to back.

Q - Can the Heroes gain hearts/potions on friendly fire ?
A - As humorous as I find the idea, you do not gain Hearts or Potions off of friendly fire.

Q - Do Heroes get potions/hearts on defensive rolls or is it only for offensive rolls ?
A - Only on attack rolls and only if the attack caused at least 1 wound.

Q - If the Ember Mage casts Flame Wave and it hits 3 monsters and she rolls a heart, does she get 3 hearts assuming the defense rolls fail?
A - You only get 1 heart per heart rolled as long as at least 1 wound was caused no matter how many targets were hit.

Q - When you get an heart during an attack with a character with the healer skill, which double the number of heart rolled, can you give an heart to two different character or must both be given to the same hero? Also, can you change one to remove a status effect while the other give a heart back or must they both give the same benefit?
A - You can spread multiple hearts out however you want.

Q - Potions... what's the range on these?
A - Potions have no range. Any hero in the dungeon can use any other hero's potion, regardless of where they are.

Q - Potion X on the Curse Coven Witch, can any monster use her potion ?
A - Only the exact Consul model that has the Potion may use it. There is no sharing like the heroes are able to do. Other than that, all the standard timing rules apply to the Consul models the same way they do to the Heroes for potion use.


RANGED EFFECTS
Q: Do ranged effects, such as Missile X, require you to be at least one square away from an enemy?
A: No. Missile X, Range X, Magic X, and Hookshot may all be used when adjacent to an enemy model.

Q - When can Ranged effects be used for attacks and when can they not ?
A - You may use it for any regular or special attack unless the attack says you can't, i.e. specifies you must use something else.


RESURRECTION
Q: If a character with a status effect counter dies are they removed when a character is successfully resurrected?
A: Yes. Only equipment, potions, and unhealed wounds are retained by a successfully resurrected Hero.

Q: If a model dies from excess damage (e.g. a massive damage attack that deals two even though one will kill the model) is that additional damage still in effect when dealing with trying to resurrect a model?
A: No. A model may not have more wound counters than its total number of hearts. Any excess wounds are discounted.


SHAPESHIFT
Q - Can you start the game as a Shapeshift model ?
A - No. Models with the type Shapeshift may only enter play as a result of another model using an ability to transform to the Shapeshift model during the game.

Q - Does equipment transfer to the Shapeshift ?
A - Yes. Any wounds, potions or status effect counters as well as any equipment the old card had are transferred to the new one.

Q - Von Drakk has an ability that gives +1B to all undead, which he is, so he would benefit from it. But when he changes to Nocturn, he is now type Shapeshift and no longer undead. Does he would keep the +1B during the shapeshift or would he lose it now that he is no longer of type undead ?
A - Per the rules for Shapeshift, Nocturne retains all of Von Drakk's "type" keywords. So Nocturne is an, Shapeshift - Undead Vampire Boss


SPAWNING / SPAWNING POINTS
Q: When a spawning point is destroyed do you reduce the amount of monsters in your pool to match what’s on your cards or do the monsters you start with stay eligible the whole game?
A: The pool of monsters you start the game with stay eligible to spawn the entire game from any remaining spawning point, regardless of type.

Q: When the Boo Booty card is drawn at a time other than when opening a treasure chest (e.g. reward for killing a Mini Boss), does it still spawn?
A: No. Shuffle it back into the treasure deck and draw again.

Q - When the Dark Consul gain new monsters in the middle of a turn (like activating a Boo Booty or when the boss hits Timeout), do the new monsters get to move the same turn they appear, or must they wait for the next turn to roll around?
A - They activate the same Round they appear.

Q - Can a Spawn Point be set on fire ?
A - No. Spawn Points are immune to status effects.

Q - What do the numbers next to the monsters listed on a spawn point card mean ?
A - The spawn point cards list the number of monster models you can spawn throughout the game. This is the 'pool' of monsters you are allowed to choose from. Monsters can die and be respawned many times as the game progresses.

Q - Do spawning points count as monster models?
A - Yes they do.

Q - Can Spawn points be pushed, pulled, or compelled ?
A - Yes. They can be pushed, pulled, and compelled.

Q - For spawning points that come in pairs, is it 3 HP per spawn point or combined HP ?
A - It is 3 HP per spawn point model.

Q - Does each remaining Spawn Point grant the Boss an extra activation ?
A - No. The Boss may only get a maximum of 1 extra activation no matter how many spawn points are remaining. But it only gets an extra activation if at least 1 spawn point remains.


SPECIAL ABILITIES / SPECIAL ATTACKS / ABILITIES / ATTACKING
Q: Can you start and finish a Pounce in the same space? (i.e. Make a 0 Square Pounce)
A: Yes, you can pounce in the same square.

Q: Does the Backlash ability only affect melee combat?
A: No. It loves zapping, shooting, and burning ranged attackers too.

Q - Do the buffs from abilities stack ?
A - If a model is affected by two abilities simultaneously, the effects are considered cumulative as long as the abilities are different--even if their effects are the same. Ex: Two shield walls do not stack, as they are the same ability. However if you had shield wall and magic aura (this isn't a thing, I'm just making it up) that both give +1 blue armor, they would stack.

Q: During the Barbarian's special attack "Rage" can the Barbarian move back and forth between two spots and attack after each move or is the Barbarian restricted from moving into the same spot it just moved from?
A: She may move back and forth between the same two spaces and will get to make an attack each time. We like to call it “The Sawblade”.

Q: If you don’t attack after one of the moves does Rage stay active? Do you get to “bank” attacks if you don’t use an attack immediately after a move?
A: Rage stays active but you cannot “bank” attacks. Any attacks gained from movement made into squares that did not have a valid target are lost.

Q: After using Rage does the Barbarian's base ARM drop to two blue or does the Barbarian's TOTAL ARM drop to two blue regardless of what auras or equipment she has on?
A: Just her base ARM drops. She retains the benefit of ARM enhancing equipment and effects as normal.

Q - Are models able to use a single special attack or special ability more than once per turn?
A - A model may use an ability or attack as many times as they wish as long as they have the required action points remaining.

Q - Can the sapper use his reach 2 to give immune to status effect to a friend?
A - Reach is not a "Ranged Effect," it is just a special ability that gives the model the ability to be in melee with more distant squares.

Q - When the Hexcast Sorceress uses one of her abilities she gets +1 blue dice to her will. Does this bonus dice stay for subsequent attacks?
A - Nope! The bonus dice associated with a Special Attack are tied just to that attack and end immediately after the attack is resolved, so in this case if she uses all three of her attacks each will only gain +1 blue.

Q - What does the 'X' next to Magic, Range, Missile, Reach, etc. mean ?
A - 'X' is a placeholder for a number that indicates the range or value of that effect.

Q - What happens if multiple wounds are afflicted in a single attack? Are the trackers advanced one step for each wound?
A - Yes, the trackers are advanced a step for each wound unless otherwise stated (like with Insignificant, for example)

Q - Does Reach Need Line of Sight ?
A - Yes

Q - Can Reach be used in conjunction with MOB ?
A - Yes. A model with Reach may benefit to and from MOB from 'X' squares away.

Q - How long does Lycanthropy last ?
A - Lycanthropy is just a generic effect like being affected by Iron Halo or a potion, so it expires when Von Wilder next activates.

Q - A toad can smooch another toad to shapeshift them back into a hero ?
A - Yes

Q - The skullbat can use juxtapose if it is 4 away ?
A - Yes

Q - If a hero is hit with juxtapose, the vulnerability cannot be removed for the rest of the game ?
A - Vulnerable (x) is a status effect now, so it can be removed.

Q - The necromancer can compel Heroes with renewed vigor as well as any other minion ?
A - Renewed Vigor is an Augment, thereby only affecting friendly models (not Heroes).

Q - Does the range of the angel's arrow storm spray get reduced if it is hitting a tower?
A - Spray isn't a Ranged Effect, it's an Area of Effect. So the Von Drakk dungeon effect for spawning points wouldn't apply to it. Range X, Magic X, and Missile X are Ranged Effects that it would apply to.

Q - What does the Crypt Spider's Surefoot ability do?
A - Surefoot - Each square of difficult terrain a model with Surefoot enters costs one point of Speed instead of two.

Q - Insignificant, can you clarify ? And does it advance the loot meter or power gauge ?
A - The free melee attack is indeed for the attacker, and the Loot-O-Meter advances as normal but the Power Gauge does not advance.

Q - Is Lycanthropy a status effect ?
A - Lycanthropy is not a status effect. It is just a generic effect like being affected by Dragon Rage, or Iron Halo.

Q - Flingers Hot Pot ability. Can it be used in melee using ATT ?
A - Hot Pot may be used in melee using the Flinger's Attack attribute. Obviously in this case it would not get the bonus DEX die to the attack roll. To further clarify attacks: Any special attack that does not specify a specific attack type i.e. Missile, Range, Magic, etc is used in melee using the model's basic Attack attribute. If the model possesses one of the Special Abilities mentioned, they may instead choose to use that ability in conjunction with the special attack, using the range (X) and attribute specified by the Special Ability.


START MARKER
Q - When placing the Start marker and the heroes figures at the beginning of the game, is there a rule preventing the heroes to start adjacent to a Spawning Point?
A - No. You can put your heroes next to a spawn point as long as you can legally put your start token that close.


STATUS EFFECTS
Q: Is there a way to remove status effects on monsters?
A: Bosses and Mini-Bosses may remove a status effect when rolling a heart on the attack roll and successfully inflicting a wound. Minions and Denizens may not remove status effects by rolling hearts unless they have a separate ability that allows them to do so. All monsters may be healed of a status effect with skull tokens.

Q: Do multiple status effects compound (e.g. a model with poison, slow and weak causes all three on attack).
A: Yes.

Q: Is this also the case when a special attack has one status effect on it while the model has a different innate one as well?
A: Yes.

Q: Does immunity to a status effect (e.g. Immune: Fire) allow a model to completely ignore an attack with the status effect?
A: No. On the specific status effect the model is Immune to is ignored. Any other effects including wounds are treated as normal.

Q - Can Bosses and Mini-Bosses heal each other the same way the heroes can (in the same way the Rogue can roll a heart and heal the Paladin), or can they only remove status ailments on themselves?
A - Bosses and Mini-Bosses may only remove an effect from itself if that particular model rolled a heart and caused a wound.

Q - Will abilities with "Immune Status Effects" cancel yours?
A - If you are inflicted with one/many status effects and suddenly gain "Immune: Status Effect" all of those are wiped out. Once you're immune you can no longer become inflicted by them until the effect of "Immune: Status Effect" wears off.


TERRAIN
Q - Lava squares inflict Fire and cost 2 point of movement to move into right ?
A - Yes. Lava is difficult terrain, therefore it costs 2 points of speed to move into, and has Fire, so it inflicts Fire.


TIMEOUT EFFECTS
Q:For Timeout Summoning, do you have a choice between pulling minions from the board versus ones that are not in play?
A: Use models that are not in play from your entire SDE collection first. Then, if needed, move any monsters on the dungeon to the correct location to complete the timeout effect.

Q: Are Timeout effects continuous?
A: No. All Timeout effects happen a single time at the moment of the timeout and then do not occur again unless otherwise stated.

Q - If a friendly model was adjacent to Starfire when the timeout effects were triggered, would they also suffer Fire?
A - No. Actions (including Timeout effects) only affect enemy models unless they are listed as Dangerous, Augment, or the text of the effect says otherwise.


Last edited by chibi-noki on March 23rd, 2014, 9:21 pm, edited 48 times in total.



April 4th, 2013, 12:44 am
Profile
Mini-Boss
User avatar

Joined: March 13th, 2012, 10:58 am
Posts: 877
Location: Ottawa, Canada
As one of the unimportant people who knows a thing or two allow me to chime in here~

UNANSWERED QUESTIONS
Q - (Potion) = Burning Bloom: All non-special attacks made by the affected Hero gain "Range 6, Fire". Can this combo with Barbarian Berzerk, for 4x Range 6, Fire attacks?
A - Yes.

Q - If a Roller Thwacks! a shell and it comes adjacent to 2 Heroes, are both Heroes affected or just 1 ?
A - Just 1.

Q - Thwack! ability. Is the 'push' listed to be treated exactly like the ability 'Push X' where the shell must end up, after every square moved, farther than it started ?
A - Yes.

Q - If I were to give a dead Hero a loot or relic that grants bonus hearts, would the Hero come back into play?
A - No, only ressurection can bring a dead hero back.

Q - According to the rules for resurrect, a player model must be placed adjacent to the start marker. But what happens when there are monsters filling all spaces adjacent to the Start point? Would this prevent the players from resurrecting their models?

Q - When a shapeshift occurs, does the model lose any buffs/effects it currently has ? Ex: The Druid activates his backlash ability and then shapeshifts to Angry Bear. Does Angry Bear have backlash still ? The rulebook says that only Potions, Cards, Wounds, and Status Effects are carried over, nothing about Friendly Effects, so it got me wondering.
A - I'm pretty sure they carry over. For all intents and purposes they're the same person just in a different form, hence why everything else carries over.

Q - Von Drakk has an ability that gives +1B to all undead, which he is, so he would benefit from it. But when he changes to Nocturn, he is now type shapeshift and no longer undead. Does he would keep the +1B during the shapeshift or would he lose it now that he is no longer of type undead ?
A - If the aura carries over to his other form (which I'm not certain if it does or not. I could see arguments for either side), then it still should apply. While yes, he is a shapeshift, he's a shapeshift of an undead creature. He wouldn't suddenly ressurect because he turned into a monster.

Q - Does the Power Gauge automatically start over when full ?
Only the first time around on a Dungeon Siege(? 5 hero game. The new terms still trip me up). Once it reaches the end and the boss spawns it stays there.

Q - Does the Von Drakk Dungeon Effect prevent attacks on spawning points by reducing range, or is it like stealth and the attacks just miss, but if it has an Aoe the Aoe still effects surrounding units ?
A - It is an effective X-2 to all ranged attacks. If you aren't in that adjusted range then you can't even hit it.

Q - When Von Drakk spawns, does he raise as many Rattle Bones as you have in your collection, or is it limited by spawning point model restrictions ?

Q - Can any Hero use offensive potions, or just the Hero with said potion ?
A - Only the unit with the offensive potion could use it during their activation.

Q - Can the Curse Coven Witch use her potion on any model in melee with a 'witch' in its name or title, or does the model have to be in melee with that particular Curse Coven Witch ?
A - They have to be in melee with the currently activated Witch.

Q - Do offensive potions cause backlash to activate ?
A - Only if they do damage, as per usual.

Q - How does rotating boards work if a big model is on 2 boards at the same time?
A - If I'm not mistaken I don't think a large unit CAN be spread out over two boards via occupying both sides of the hallway, but I may be mistaken.

Q - If 'Vulnerable (x)' is printed in the special ability bar, how are you suppose to know if that model is weak to (x) or if it gives out vulnerable (x) as a status effect ?

Q - A toad cannot use Its sticky tongue on a spawning point because a spawning point does not have a dex stat ?
A - Against Von Drak? No, it can't use it's sticky tongue because of the ranged reduction.
Against other bosses? If a model doesn't have a stat listed it counts as 0.


Q - Is Lycanthropy one unremovable effect (until Von Drakk activates), or can the vulnerable: magic part be removed ?
A - Lycanthropy is one unremovable effect.


April 4th, 2013, 1:30 am
Profile
Mini-Boss
User avatar

Joined: February 27th, 2013, 3:20 am
Posts: 600
While I appreciate your responses. Most of these questions are (and were heavily) debatable, and require an official reply from SPM.


April 4th, 2013, 1:44 am
Profile
Mini-Boss
User avatar

Joined: March 13th, 2012, 10:58 am
Posts: 877
Location: Ottawa, Canada
chibi-noki wrote:
While I appreciate your responses. Most of these questions are (and were heavily) debatable, and require an official reply from SPM.


I get that a lot.


April 4th, 2013, 1:50 am
Profile
Dungeon Boss
User avatar

Joined: March 13th, 2012, 2:24 pm
Posts: 1182
Exeltus wrote:
chibi-noki wrote:
While I appreciate your responses. Most of these questions are (and were heavily) debatable, and require an official reply from SPM.


I get that a lot.


Hehe....that just made me chuckle, Exeltus!


April 4th, 2013, 2:13 am
Profile
Denizen
User avatar

Joined: July 11th, 2012, 2:47 am
Posts: 338
Good comprehensive list. Definitely could use an official answer on many of those as just looking at Exeltus's take I see many where I disagree with his responses and others where I can see how multiple different answers could quite possibly be correct.


April 4th, 2013, 6:27 am
Profile
Dungeon Boss
User avatar

Joined: March 13th, 2012, 2:24 pm
Posts: 1182
Exeltus wrote:
Q - (Potion) = Burning Bloom: All non-special attacks made by the affected Hero gain "Range 6, Fire". Can this combo with Barbarian Berzerk, for 4x Range 6, Fire attacks?
A - Yes.


I'm not going to comment on every question here (short on time), but after reading the first one...I agree with Exeltus. The extra attack from Berserk isn't a "Special Attack"....it's an additional "normal attack", and therefore would benefit from the Burning Bloom like all other normal attacks do.


April 4th, 2013, 12:43 pm
Profile
Ninja Corps
User avatar

Joined: March 14th, 2012, 11:48 pm
Posts: 732
Location: NW Pa
Trust Exeltus, he knows things. Also the Shapeshift retains all the types of his original form. So if it would effect Undead, than it effects the Nocturne.

_________________
My Projects - AdventureCraft Games
http://thefacelessking.wix.com/adventurecraft


April 4th, 2013, 1:03 pm
Profile
Denizen
User avatar

Joined: December 11th, 2012, 3:30 pm
Posts: 294
To add to the FAQ, there's a fairly significant one I came across when reading up on status effects that links to the Vulnerable (X) issue.

Q: As Status effects are directly linked to counters (you only have the status effect if you have the counter and only lose it when that counter is discarded - see page 27 of the rulebook for full text) how can anything suffer Vulnerable (X) and if they can, how can we track it and remove it?

Also, I totally agree that with the change of Vulnerable to now being a status effect it's (unintentionally) changed how it works on the status bar for everyone. Whoops! That's a great spot (and this is a great collection that needs reviewing).


April 4th, 2013, 2:11 pm
Profile
Bottle Cap
User avatar

Joined: April 4th, 2013, 3:19 pm
Posts: 5
Q - (Potion) = Burning Bloom: All non-special attacks made by the affected Hero gain "Range 6, Fire". Can this combo with Barbarian Berzerk, for 4x Range 6, Fire attacks?

No, but she can make
"3x Range 6, Fire" and "1x melee attack with fire"
because Berserk only provide "a single melee attack"
Quote:
If a model possess a ranged effect special ability and uses it to
make the attack then this attack is called a ranged attack.
If the model does not possess a ranged effect special ability or chooses not to use it, then
they may only make a basic attack against a model in an adjacent square. This is called
a melee attack.

if you use Range 6 effect , it's not a melee attack.
so , I think Barbarian can only do "3x Range 6, Fire" and "one single melee attack with fire"
if she had Burning Bloom.

I have another question.
Q: What happen if Barbarian has 6 action then use Rage twice? (candy & cola 's potion, scout 's potion)
Dose she move 1 square then make 2 melee attack ? or just make 1 melee attack per move like normal?


April 4th, 2013, 3:33 pm
Profile
Mini-Boss
User avatar

Joined: February 27th, 2013, 3:20 am
Posts: 600
lus123 wrote:
Q: What happen if Barbarian has 6 action then use Rage twice? (candy & cola 's potion, scout 's potion) Dose she move 1 square then make 2 melee attack ? or just make 1 melee attack per move like normal?


Since it's a special attack, the first attack activation would have to be resolved before you could activate it again. And there would be no speed remaining after the first activation making it a wasted action.


April 4th, 2013, 4:16 pm
Profile
Dungeon Boss
User avatar

Joined: March 13th, 2012, 2:24 pm
Posts: 1182
lus123 wrote:
Q - (Potion) = Burning Bloom: All non-special attacks made by the affected Hero gain "Range 6, Fire". Can this combo with Barbarian Berzerk, for 4x Range 6, Fire attacks?

No, but she can make
"3x Range 6, Fire" and "1x melee attack with fire"
because Berserk only provide "a single melee attack"
Quote:
If a model possess a ranged effect special ability and uses it to
make the attack then this attack is called a ranged attack.
If the model does not possess a ranged effect special ability or chooses not to use it, then
they may only make a basic attack against a model in an adjacent square. This is called
a melee attack.

if you use Range 6 effect , it's not a melee attack.
so , I think Barbarian can only do "3x Range 6, Fire" and "one single melee attack with fire"
if she had Burning Bloom.


Hi Lus123, welcome to the forum. Let me help explain how this specific scenario works. Generally, specific rulings on cards will always supercede the rulings in the rulebook, or the rulings of other cards/models they are affecting. In this case:

- the Barbarian starts with 3 actions points
- next, because of Berserk, she is given 1 additional action point that can only be spent to make a basic attack
- lastly, the Burning Bloom applies it's affect over the top of the extra attack, allowing it to then be a basic ranged attack.

The part about the Burning Bloom turning the attacks into ranged attacks supercedes the limitation of being a melee attack, set by Berserk.

Had another ability said "the additional action point provided by Berserk may be spent on special attacks or special actions"...then that would supercede that portion of Berserk.


April 4th, 2013, 6:18 pm
Profile
Denizen
User avatar

Joined: July 11th, 2012, 2:47 am
Posts: 338
Well since it's become a free-for-all of interpretation anyways:

Q - (Potion) = Burning Bloom: All non-special attacks made by the affected Hero gain "Range 6, Fire". Can this combo with Barbarian Berzerk, for 4x Range 6, Fire attacks?
A - No. Keep in mind that Burning Bloom does NOT give the hero Range 6, Fire, rather it changes the attacks to Range 6, Fire. Thus the Barbarians Berserk which requires the attack to be melee, would not gain the benefit.

Q - If a Roller Thwacks! a shell and it comes adjacent to 2 Heroes, are both Heroes affected or just 1 ?
A - This one is tricky. I am inclined to say every hero the shell stops adjacent to gets hit simply from the wording of the attack. If not, this attack really should have stated choose one hero.

Q - If I were to give a dead Hero a loot or relic that grants bonus hearts, would the Hero come back into play?
A - I think this has been stated before but when asked before whether or not dead heroes could be equipped the SPM answer was "Yeah, with body bags." It was obviously meant as a joke not an endorsement of being able to equip dead heroes.

Q - According to the rules for resurrect, a player model must be placed adjacent to the start marker. But what happens when there are monsters filling all spaces adjacent to the Start point? Would this prevent the players from resurrecting their models?
A - There are numerous other rules for when a model can't be legally placed and the answer generally is keep moving further out until they can.

Q - Von Drakk has an ability that gives +1B to all undead, which he is, so he would benefit from it. But when he changes to Nocturn, he is now type shapeshift and no longer undead. Does he would keep the +1B during the shapeshift or would he lose it now that he is no longer of type undead ?
A - The aura wouldn't go away as activated abilities last until the model next activates. But the Shapeshift form would not benefit as it uses a different card and that card does not have the Undead creature type. The Shapeshift forms do not keep many key words, stats, abilities, and even names so there is no reason to believe that they are supposed to keep racial attributes.

Q - Can any Hero use offensive potions, or just the Hero with said potion ?
A - Any hero can use offensive potions but they can only be used on that heroes activation.


April 4th, 2013, 6:30 pm
Profile
Bottle Cap
User avatar

Joined: February 4th, 2013, 1:14 am
Posts: 40
Kirenx wrote:
Well since it's become a free-for-all of interpretation anyways:

Q - Can any Hero use offensive potions, or just the Hero with said potion ?
A - Any hero can use offensive potions but they can only be used on that heroes activation.


I personally find this to be way OP for heroes so I've house ruled it out.


April 4th, 2013, 6:35 pm
Profile
Dungeon Boss
User avatar

Joined: March 13th, 2012, 2:24 pm
Posts: 1182
chibi-noki wrote:
Q - Von Drakk has an ability that gives +1B to all undead, which he is, so he would benefit from it. But when he changes to Nocturn, he is now type shapeshift and no longer undead. Does he would keep the +1B during the shapeshift or would he lose it now that he is no longer of type undead ?


SPM_Deke wrote:
Per the rules for Shapeshift Nocturne retains all of Von Drakk's "type" keywords. So Nocturne is an, Undead Vampire Boss Shapeshift


April 4th, 2013, 6:45 pm
Profile
Denizen
User avatar

Joined: July 11th, 2012, 2:47 am
Posts: 338
thetang22 wrote:
chibi-noki wrote:
Q - Von Drakk has an ability that gives +1B to all undead, which he is, so he would benefit from it. But when he changes to Nocturn, he is now type shapeshift and no longer undead. Does he would keep the +1B during the shapeshift or would he lose it now that he is no longer of type undead ?


SPM_Deke wrote:
Per the rules for Shapeshift Nocturne retains all of Von Drakk's "type" keywords. So Nocturne is an, Undead Vampire Boss Shapeshift


You think they would just put on the cards Shapeshift - Undead Vampire Boss. The actual rules in the current version of the rulebook do not state that Shapeshifted figures retain keywords so I'm assuming that must a revised rule.


April 4th, 2013, 6:49 pm
Profile
Dungeon Boss
User avatar

Joined: March 13th, 2012, 2:24 pm
Posts: 1182
Kirenx wrote:
thetang22 wrote:
chibi-noki wrote:
Q - Von Drakk has an ability that gives +1B to all undead, which he is, so he would benefit from it. But when he changes to Nocturn, he is now type shapeshift and no longer undead. Does he would keep the +1B during the shapeshift or would he lose it now that he is no longer of type undead ?


SPM_Deke wrote:
Per the rules for Shapeshift Nocturne retains all of Von Drakk's "type" keywords. So Nocturne is an, Undead Vampire Boss Shapeshift


You think they would just put on the cards Shapeshift - Undead Vampire Boss. The actual rules in the current version of the rulebook do not state that Shapeshifted figures retain keywords so I'm assuming that must a revised rule.


I said the same sort of thing to Deke when he told this to me....then I looked in the rules and it was in the Example provided next to the ruling.


April 4th, 2013, 6:51 pm
Profile
Denizen
User avatar

Joined: July 11th, 2012, 2:47 am
Posts: 338
thetang22 wrote:

I said the same sort of thing to Deke when he told this to me....then I looked in the rules and it was in the Example provided next to the ruling.


Hah, well there you go. Guess it pays to read the examples as well as the rules.


April 4th, 2013, 6:53 pm
Profile
Dungeon Boss
User avatar

Joined: March 13th, 2012, 2:24 pm
Posts: 1182
I know the Bone Pile question is another hot-button issue right now. A lot of people are saying you can have any number of raised Skeletons, regardless of how many actually belong to a spawn point set. I was looking through some old FAQs, and I noticed something Deke said that's worth mentioning:

SPM_Deke wrote:
Exeltus wrote:
Just to make sure, you can only have as many Heroes turned into Miserable Toads as there are minis available right? If there are more than one Pumpkin Patch being used does that mean Consul can turn up to 4 Heroes into toads?

Yes. In general that is just a rule of the game.


This still probably needs clarification to be sure, but Deke's comment suggests that "available" means you are limited by the number of models linked to your spawn points, rather than how many you own. Exeltus suggested using more spawn point to get more available models, which Deke concurred with.

If that's the case, that could also have implications on the above answer about Time-Out spawning effects.


Last edited by thetang22 on April 4th, 2013, 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.



April 4th, 2013, 7:28 pm
Profile
Mini-Boss
User avatar

Joined: February 27th, 2013, 3:20 am
Posts: 600
thetang22 wrote:
chibi-noki wrote:
Q - Von Drakk has an ability that gives +1B to all undead, which he is, so he would benefit from it. But when he changes to Nocturn, he is now type shapeshift and no longer undead. Does he would keep the +1B during the shapeshift or would he lose it now that he is no longer of type undead ?


SPM_Deke wrote:
Per the rules for Shapeshift Nocturne retains all of Von Drakk's "type" keywords. So Nocturne is an, Undead Vampire Boss Shapeshift


Updated.


April 4th, 2013, 7:30 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 122 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.