View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently September 23rd, 2018, 11:14 am



Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
 Shuriken 
Author Message
Mini-Boss
User avatar

Joined: July 3rd, 2014, 12:03 am
Posts: 878
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
A thrown shuriken only allows the attacker to roll one die, regardless of their ATT stat and cannot be adjusted by bonuses.

So, a model needs to get within three spaces, and then only roll one die, sacrificing their action to do so. Now, while I did not see it explicitly stated, I am assuming that the defender still gets to roll dice?

If this is the case, then it makes shurikens next to useless as the defender will be choosing the dice most of the time,so unless they're all bad, the best you can realistically hope for is a stun.

But on the flip side, this is good, because a really strong model being taken out by a 1 in 6 chance, is powerful. But then they have to get that close....

So am I wrong when I understand that defenders get their dice?

_________________
Want to enjoy a game of Super Dungeon Exlore in half the time that Forgotten King offers? Try Lootimeter Mode!
Sodapop Lootimeter Discussion thread
BGG Lootimeter discusson thread


February 4th, 2016, 5:52 pm
Profile
Minion
User avatar

Joined: January 19th, 2013, 10:34 pm
Posts: 201
That's how I saw it. It's just a regular ranged attack but with only 1 die. Defender still rolls their dice.


February 4th, 2016, 6:11 pm
Profile
Ninja Corps
User avatar

Joined: March 25th, 2012, 9:44 pm
Posts: 2463
Yeah, shuriken attacks are very weak. They are really there for little more than "well, I have nothing else I can do". That said,I watched a kunoichi take out 3 people in one game with shuriken. Statistically unlikely, but it can happen. :P


February 4th, 2016, 6:45 pm
Profile
Bottle Cap
User avatar

Joined: February 4th, 2016, 10:24 am
Posts: 13
I like shurikens, they are a nice option because they are stealthy.
Can large based miniatures use shurikens too?


February 5th, 2016, 7:09 am
Profile
Ninja Corps
User avatar

Joined: March 25th, 2012, 9:44 pm
Posts: 2463
Jurenito wrote:
I like shurikens, they are a nice option because they are stealthy.
Can large based miniatures use shurikens too?


Every miniature can use shuriken. regular ninja, chunin, oni, ronin, whatever.


February 5th, 2016, 9:20 am
Profile
Mini-Boss
User avatar

Joined: November 29th, 2013, 7:12 am
Posts: 667
They are good because i can still do something if i can't quite reach my target or i want to stay stealthed but i still want to take a shot and with it being a ranged attack there is no chance for self injury


February 5th, 2016, 5:05 pm
Profile
Bottle Cap
User avatar

Joined: February 4th, 2016, 10:24 am
Posts: 13
Can you throw a shuriken to enemies you are in contact in your front zone?


February 5th, 2016, 6:17 pm
Profile
Ninja Corps
User avatar

Joined: March 25th, 2012, 9:44 pm
Posts: 2463
Jurenito wrote:
Can you throw a shuriken to enemies you are in contact in your front zone?


No, they can't do that. As per ranged combat rules on page 14 "A model that is in an enemy model’s influence zone cannot make ranged attacks."


February 5th, 2016, 6:32 pm
Profile
Denizen
User avatar

Joined: May 7th, 2012, 2:46 am
Posts: 424
Location: Boston
And Kitsune Yajiri hateses them.

_________________
GoblinHall


February 5th, 2016, 6:35 pm
Profile WWW
Bottle Cap
User avatar

Joined: February 4th, 2016, 10:24 am
Posts: 13
Usagi wrote:
Jurenito wrote:
Can you throw a shuriken to enemies you are in contact in your front zone?


No, they can't do that. As per ranged combat rules on page 14 "A model that is in an enemy model’s influence zone cannot make ranged attacks."

Sorry, I wanted to mean Your influence zone but their back.


February 5th, 2016, 8:31 pm
Profile
Ninja Corps
User avatar

Joined: March 25th, 2012, 9:44 pm
Posts: 2463
Jurenito wrote:
Usagi wrote:
Jurenito wrote:
Can you throw a shuriken to enemies you are in contact in your front zone?


No, they can't do that. As per ranged combat rules on page 14 "A model that is in an enemy model’s influence zone cannot make ranged attacks."

Sorry, I wanted to mean Your influence zone but their back.


back is still an influence zone. there's only two ways they can be in your influence zone and not the other way around. Either they are stealthed, and don't have one. In that case you can't target them anyways. Or, you have entangle, and they are in your "outer ring" of influence. In that case you could still shoot at them. However, being behind them has no effect on shuriken, or any, ranged attack. Ranged attacks are not affected by backstrike, assists or stealth bonuses.


February 5th, 2016, 9:00 pm
Profile
Bottle Cap
User avatar

Joined: February 4th, 2016, 10:24 am
Posts: 13
Usagi wrote:
Jurenito wrote:
Usagi wrote:
No, they can't do that. As per ranged combat rules on page 14 "A model that is in an enemy model’s influence zone cannot make ranged attacks."

Sorry, I wanted to mean Your influence zone but their back.


back is still an influence zone. there's only two ways they can be in your influence zone and not the other way around. Either they are stealthed, and don't have one. In that case you can't target them anyways. Or, you have entangle, and they are in your "outer ring" of influence. In that case you could still shoot at them. However, being behind them has no effect on shuriken, or any, ranged attack. Ranged attacks are not affected by backstrike, assists or stealth bonuses.

Yeah, but with ranged attacks you can't be injured. :lol:
Thanks for explanation, thought influence zone was only the front one.


February 6th, 2016, 7:20 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.