View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently August 21st, 2018, 11:06 am



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 Confirmation of LOS and movement round corners. 
Author Message
Minion
User avatar

Joined: February 2nd, 2016, 4:52 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Cambridge, UK
I just want to confirm my understanding of the ways LOS and movement work around corners.

In the following diagrams, the black lines are Dungeon Walls, the (M) is a Monster, the (H) a Hero, and the transparent (H) the Hero's previous location.

Firstly Line Of Sight:

Am I right in thinking that in the following 2 cases:
Image

Image
the Monster and Hero do have line of sight to each other?

But in this case:
Image
they do not?

Now for movement:

Can our Hero move as indicated, here:
Image
for a single movement point?

Similarly, would this:
Image
require just a single movement point?

But this:
Image
would require 3 movement points, not 2?

Thanks in advance.


February 5th, 2016, 9:12 pm
Profile
Ninja Corps
User avatar

Joined: March 25th, 2012, 9:44 pm
Posts: 2459
That all reads as correct to me.


February 5th, 2016, 10:54 pm
Profile
Mini-Boss
User avatar

Joined: May 15th, 2014, 9:10 am
Posts: 583
agreed. looks ok to me

_________________
I claim the right to be unhappy


February 6th, 2016, 7:20 am
Profile
Denizen
User avatar

Joined: November 18th, 2015, 10:42 am
Posts: 350
Location: The Low Lands
Scorpion0x17 wrote:
Now for movement:

Can our Hero move as indicated, here:
Image
for a single movement point?

As the rules say you may move diagonally, I also wondered about this.
If you look at IRL movement, the model has no method to go to the diagnonal square without fully moving onto the other vertically adjacent square first.

If you move strictly according to the rules, you may even move in between 2 structures, as long as you can manouver through the corners:
Image
.. as if models have zero width. Which I feel is a bit counter-intuitive.
It's a pity SDE hasn't chosen for hexagons, but I guess that would make movement of large base models a bit harder.


February 6th, 2016, 8:12 am
Profile
Consul
User avatar

Joined: June 20th, 2012, 8:00 pm
Posts: 2752
Location: Sønderholm, Denmark
I agree. Scorpion0x17's examples are correct.

Teowulff's example with buildings may seem a bit weird, but replace the structures with other models and moving between a zero-gap doesn't seem that ridiculous anymore.
It just looks wrong because it's buildings. Afaik the example doesn't even exist in SDE - and with good reason because it feels wrong. But rule wise you can slip through corners.

_________________
I'm Super Dungeon Excite!
Super Dungeon Explore Compendium


February 6th, 2016, 8:26 am
Profile WWW
Minion
User avatar

Joined: February 2nd, 2016, 4:52 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Cambridge, UK
Thanks all.

Teowulff wrote:
If you move strictly according to the rules, you may even move in between 2 structures, as long as you can manouver through the corners:
Image
.. as if models have zero width. Which I feel is a bit counter-intuitive.
It's a pity SDE hasn't chosen for hexagons, but I guess that would make movement of large base models a bit harder.

I'd not even considered that!

And, just to confirm, you mention structures and I can see how it makes sense in terms of those - a structure doesn't necessarily literally take up the entire square that it is in, so there is likely a gap the model may move freely through - but, I assume this applies equally to dungeon walls, as I reference in my OP, too, even though those are illustrated as running along the edges of, and in some case even entirely filling, tile squares.

Is that correct?


February 6th, 2016, 2:18 pm
Profile
Minion
User avatar

Joined: February 2nd, 2016, 4:52 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Cambridge, UK
Ah...

Having just got the tiles out again I've realised I was misremembering how the Dungeon Walls are illustrated - they span the boundaries between the tile squares.

So, whilst I think this doesn't alter LOS and movement, as described in my OP (or does it?), it does mean that Teowullf's example doesn't apply to dungeon walls because those would form a cross, like that in the middle of one of the Fae Woods tile sides.


February 6th, 2016, 3:56 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.