View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently November 18th, 2017, 6:44 pm

Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
 Duplicate Spawn points and Paired Spawn points 
Bottle Cap

Hello heroes!

I'm completely brand new to Super Dungeon Explore and I'm preparing to be Consul in my first game next week. I think I have a solid grasp on all of the rules (hurrah!) except spawning (booo!)

I'll try my best to explain my conundrum and hopefully someone can come along and call me a numpty for getting it wrong :D

The rule book states:

"When using duplicate spawning points, it is not necessary to track which monsters belong to a specific spawning point."

I interpret this as being the monsters in the pool can come out of any point on the map that matches their spawn. But that's where things get confusing for me... I'll try to detail the scenario in my head.

It's the start of a game
I have 2 of the same spawn points.

I use a turn spawning to bring out 1 spawn pools worth 16bit monsters from the spawn point closest to the heroes.
I do whatever with them for a turn as you cant spawn on multiple turns
I use a turn to spawn the other spawn pools worth of 16bit monsters from the spawn point closest to the heroes.

I'm pretty sure this is what the rules allow for with "not necessary to track which monsters belong to a specific spawning point." It just gives you a bigger pool of monsters with multiple exits on to the map.

Now is where things get a touch confusing for me.

For this example, let us assume that our duplicate spawning points are "Bramble Knight" and there are now 2 "Grobbit Executioner" in play.

If a "Bramble Knight" spawn is destroyed, then from that point on the pool can only contain a single "Grobbit Executioner". So when the first of 2 "Grobbit executioner"'s dies, is he returned to the pool as there is space for one, or is he removed from play as there is another "Grobbit Executioner" still alive.