View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently November 21st, 2017, 1:44 am

Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
 Vom Drakk exp second mini-boss question 
Bottle Cap

Hi, I'm new to the game and love playing it with my nieces.

I recently got the von drakk expansion and tiles and got confused by the fact that there seems to be only one mini-boss, I then bought the witch queen exp thinking she was the missing mini-boss but I see she is actualy a final boss.

How do you play this exp with only one mini-boss?, I'm confused.

Last edited by Serenet on June 26th, 2017, 6:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

June 25th, 2017, 12:20 am
Ninja Corps

Expansion sets like that aren't necessarily meant to be played wholly separated.

I can't remember what comes specifically with Von Drakk, I think he has the pumpkin patches, shallow graves, Von Drakk and Death? There is a second, thematic, mini boss (meaning, it's undead themed, cast in purple, etc). That's Gruesome George. He comes with the Silt Town expansion. That has George, the Grabby House (which is a spawn point I personally quite like) and the Marie Claude hero. I think that's what comes in it.

Vandella the succubus is also a thematic mini-boss for Von Drakk, as I believe she is his girlfriend. She is a single model expansion, meaning it's just a small box with her in it. She's not purple (she's pink, meaning she's a nether monster) but she is associated with Von Drakk.

But, my actual point is that everything in the game is mix-and-match. There's no rule that requires everything to match color or theme. You can run a game that's half fae woods, half moors. Have death and Trent as mini bosses. Heck, you could throw in an egg clutch or something. A lot of people will play the game only thematically. I can see the appeal of that. But, I also think that playing it like that really misses out on the tactical variety the game can offer. Mix and match can make some really interesting combos, ultimately.