View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently December 12th, 2018, 3:57 pm

Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Paint Stripping 
Minion

So, obviously there are articles on other websites out there that I could (and have) look at about stripping the paint off of minis but, I thought I'd ask you guys here what your opinions are.

I started working on my Shattered Sword over the past weekend and, they're absolutely awful. It's my first time painting a mini that should look nice and clean and it's my first time painting from a white primer. I've painted Malifaux and Iron Kingdom minis in the past but, those setting tend to be rough and gritty; everything is covered in soot or dirt and dust. The gritty setting, I think, makes painting soooooo much easier! The pristine armour of Francis and his Swordsworn are making things pretty tough for me.

I'm using Reaper paints so, water soluble, nothing special there. (Although, I really really am finding that I don't like how watery they are, I think I'm just going to stick with Vallejo).

Thanks peeps!

October 21st, 2014, 9:38 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Bottle Cap

I recommend using Simple Green. I've used that with plenty of success on the Relic Knights models, many of which I didn't get quite right until my second try. 24 hours in the Simple Green is more than enough, depending on how you mechanically remove the paint. I usually give the models a good scrub with a toothbrush after a few hours, then let them sit overnight and scrub them again.

Best new technique I started using though is using an ultrasonic cleaner. I bought a small unit sold as a jewelry cleaner for about $45. It was worth the cost for me because I also use it for airbrush cleaning. I can strip a Relic Knights model in Simple Green in under an hour with little to no scrubbing and with far better results. The cavitation the machine produces gets into the hard to reach areas that are almost impossible to scrub with a toothbrush.

October 21st, 2014, 9:49 pm